IPL: Shakib Al Hasan names his all-time IPL XI

Shakib Al Hasan IPL XI: The Indian Premier League is the most-watched T20 tournament in the globe. Since its inception in 2008, several players have gone on to represent the franchisees and stunned the cricket fraternity.

Among the franchisees, Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the IPL. Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians managed to win 5 titles and decorated their trophy cabinet.

On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings are the second-most successful side in the IPL. The yellow army won three titles. Kolkata Knight Riders won two titles to their name.

Rajasthan Royals are remembered for winning the inaugural edition of the IPL. Sunrisers Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers won a title apiece. For the unversed, IPL Governing Council terminated Deccan Chargers for breaching the contract terms.

Shakib Al Hasan names his all-time IPL XI

Meanwhile, Bangladeshi’s experienced player Shakib Al Hasan made the headlines after he named his all-time IPL XI. Surprisingly, he included only three overseas players in his XI.

The veteran named Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni in his XI but made MS Dhoni as the captain of his XI. Shakib Al Hasan picked Rohit Sharma and David Warner as the opening pair.

Shakib Al Hasan names MS Dhoni as the captain of his XI

Following the opening pair, the likes of Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni come next in the XI. KL Rahul has been chosen at the No.5 position. Shakib had no confusion whatsoever in terms of selecting the captain.

Rohit Sharma won 5 titles as Mumbai Indians’ captain whereas MS Dhoni won three titles as Chennai Super Kings’ captain. Virat Kohli who is leading Royal Challengers Bangalore are yet to win a trophy. However, Shakib went with MS Dhoni as the captain of his all-time IPL XI.

Shockingly, Shakib overlooked Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, AB de Villiers, Rashid Khan and Shane Watson. Meanwhile, the pace attack includes top names like Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. All these three were truly sensational with their bowling by keeping the opposition batsmen in check.

As far as the all-rounders are concerned, Shakib went with the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Ben Stokes. Shakib Al Hasan was part of the KKR setup that won the IPL in the 2012 and 2014 edition respectively. The 34-year-old is set to feature in the remainder of the 2021 IPL.

Earlier, Bangladesh Cricket Board confirmed that they are willing to give a no-objection certificate (NOC) to the veteran player. He will be looking forward to helping the Sunrisers Hyderabad for this season. Currently, the Sunrisers are in a worrisome situation. They will look to turn the tide in the second leg of the IPL.

Shakib’s all-time IPL XI

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain and wk), KL Rahul, Ben Stokes, Ravindra Jadeja, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The post IPL: Shakib Al Hasan names his all-time IPL XI appeared first on The12thMan.

Comments are closed.