NRL green lights expansion with 17th team

A 17th team will enter the NRL competition in 2023, the news made official by the ARL Commission informing the 16 existing clubs today.

The expansion committee will now meet tomorrow to discuss the three bids, and then a successful applicant will be chosen from the Redcliffe Dolphins, the Firehawks, and the Jets.

The Dolphins have been heavily backed to oust the other two bidders and win the licence to compete in the NRL in 2023.

READ MORE: NFL coach's feisty response to que

LIVE UPDATES: Carlton officially seals Adam Cerra trade dealstion about marriage over viral bar video

READ MORE: Melbourne Storm trio 'lucky' to escape with lenient sanctions, says Gallen

Why Benji Marshall decided to retire

The fourth Queensland team will be based in Brisbane and will automatically become the closest rival to Brisbane Broncos out of Suncorp Stadium.

The last time the NRL expanded was when the Titans entered the competition in 2007.

The Sydney Morning Herald reports the extra team will result in 12 additional games per season on the NRL draw, with each team to get two byes.

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Comments are closed.